Thai Curry

I’ve started a new trend. I’m keeping myself mainly in Manhattan during the weekdays and in Brooklyn on the weekends. No matter where I go I’m sure to find good food but in some places it takes more digging than in others.

Bedford Avenue in Williamsburg is full of fabulous restaurants and hip hangouts for dining out. The place gets a ton of heat for being a type of “hipster” capital in New York. In my honest opinion it’s not so much that the place is “too hip to function” but rather it is a young and inviting corner of Brooklyn that screams, “Eat local, buy vintage and make ends meet while still looking like you’re worth more than you can afford.”

I was craving Thai food all day long and lo and behold I stumbled upon Tai Thai, on the corner of Bedford Avenue and Sixth Street. The place has an outdoor patio in the front, some cramped seating inside and an entire outdoor garden in the back. We commandeered a table right in the front patio area so we could creep on the people that were filling up the avenue for the Northside Music Festival.

From the looks of everyone around me — obvious locals — the soups and curry seemed to be the popular choices. I ordered Massaman Curry which includes coconut milk, potatoes, peanuts and onions. It beat out any curry I’ve ever eaten from Thai Basil, that’s for sure.

Massaman Curry from Tai Thai.

Massaman Curry from Tai Thai.

The flavor was a perfect balance of savory but light.

The flavor was a perfect balance of savory but light.

I also ordered a strong Thai iced coffee that was marvelous and did I mention strong?

Thai Iced Coffee from Tai Thai.

Thai Iced Coffee from Tai Thai.

All in all this Thai food experience was an entertaining exploration and a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon. Nothing but good food and vivacious company.

– A

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

