A Trip to Venezuela

I’ll try anything twice.

What if I just left it at that? No more to see here guys, just thought you should know I’ll try it all twice. Bye.

No, okay really, I think trying everything twice is really important. What if the food you’re eating was made by someone in training? Or what if someone forgot to set the timer on the oven? For this reason I think it is important to give everything a second chance. This also applies to food that I think may be too good.

In East Village there is a small cramped rectangular restaurant called Caracas Arepa Bar. What is an arepa? The place gets that question a lot and I’ll admit, I asked it myself. An arepa is a corn flour “bun” that is grilled, baked and stuffed like a pita. When it arrived I looked at it a little unsatisfied, I’ll admit it. It was not a full plate of food and it didn’t look all that special. I slapped a smile on my face and went in for a bite. Holy Arepa, my mouth was filled with textures and flavors it had never experienced before. Just when I thought it couldn’t get better my friend told me to put the house sauce inside and when I slathered it all up in that thing it only made my eyes roll back further. I’ll stop with the graphic details and just show you masterpiece that is an arepa.

La Sureña Arepa from Caracas Arepa Bar.

La Sureña Arepa from Caracas Arepa Bar.

My arepa slathered with house sauce.

My arepa slathered with house sauce.

So, I went back another time and ate another. It was just as good and I’m now convinced that yes, the arepa is just as amazing the second time around. Caracas has four locations and if you go, try and make sure your company is small. Also bring cash. Don’t forget to order a michelada, a beer cocktail with lime juice, hot sauce and other spices. Enjoy it all as much as I did.

-A

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

