From Brooklyn to Bali

When one is bored in New York you need look no further then a borough or two away. Have a desire to read signs in foreign languages? Head to Chinatown. Want to be dragged into a restaurant by Italian men? Go to Little Italy. You don’t need to spend $2000 on a plane ticket when you can pay for a $2.50 train ticket to the closest neighborhood filled with shopping and food of not so distant lands.

Sunday, I boarded the L train to Brooklyn and walked up Driggs Avenue to Selamat Pagi, a restaurant that serves inspired dishes from Bali. I’m going to be honest and say I don’t think anything can quite compare to the experience I had at Selamat Pagi. If you are ever in New York, I will be personally insulted if you do not seek out this restaurant and try their food. It is a New York must. The food tasted fresh, the parsley was picked from the garden, the decor is simple and beautiful and the use of ingredients are implemented in ways that are so revolutionary that my mind was blown, stomped on, rejuvenated and then shattered into a million pieces. Twice.

Selamat Pagi in Brooklyn

Selamat Pagi in Brooklyn

Table setting at Selamat Pagi

Table setting at Selamat Pagi

It was hard to decide what I truly wanted on the menu after glancing over it and seeing so many delightful options. Then, to make matters even worse — or should I say “better” — the waiter told us the special which incorporated sweet potatoes, red potatoes, chicken, curry and so much more. Without much thought, my friend across the table said, “We’ll take the special and banana pancakes.” It could not have been a better choice.

My friend Emily, a gift from God.

My friend Emily, a gift from God.

These are what we ordered; the banana pancakes and the special.

These are what we ordered; the banana pancakes and the special.

Above you will see the two masterpieces that we ordered. The pancakes were thin and layered with caramelized bananas, macadamia nuts, coconut a homemade whip cream with real vanilla bean and a side of the greatest thing I’ve ever eaten: palm sugar syrup. The dish on the right is the special with curried potatoes, vegetables, chicken topped with an over-easy egg, parsley and chopped green onion. The runny egg yolk was on point.

If all Balinese food is this good I may move.

If all Balinese food is this good I may move.

The special only got better once that egg yolk was let loose.

The special only got better once that egg yolk was let loose.

Once the palm sugar syrup was poured my tastebuds were sent on a ride into ecstasy.

Once the palm sugar syrup was poured my tastebuds were sent on a ride into ecstasy.

If these photos do not convince you of the height in caliber of this meal then I don’t know what will. Again, I must stress how important it is for people to come here if they ever visit New York…. It’s the best.

-A

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

