Los Tacos Mexicanos

Having lived in Arizona and California for decent portions of my lifespan has allowed me to eat authentic Mexican food without ever visiting Mexico. I never thought you could get better Mexican food once you start heading away from the border but these beauties pictured below were found in — you guessed it — New York.

Tacos and Jamaica Agua Fresca from Los Tacos No. 1

Tacos and Jamaica Agua Fresca from Los Tacos No. 1

Los Tacos No. 1 has recently opened in Chelsea Market and is the work of three friends originating from Tijuana, Mexico and Brawley, California. Their mission was to bring true Mexican flavor to the east coast through real family recipes. As they boast to having the number one tacos in the title of their restaurant I figured I’d get one of each and see how they stood up to what I’ve had from back on the west coast.

The Pollo Asado Taco

The Pollo Asado Taco

Above is the pollo asado (grilled chicken) taco with everything on it. I don’t know what that entailed but I went for it. I opted for a corn tortilla over the flour and hoped for the best. The flavors packed a punch and the taco was definitely a lot better than some I’ve had before but I wasn’t wowed. The guacamole over the top was pretty bueno though, I must admit.

Adobada Taco

Adobada Taco

Above is the adobada taco which is marinated pork. I also got everything on this bad boy and was not complaining about it. Not only did this taco send me through pork perfection but I probably could have downed twenty of these babies. The tacos were quite filling, after two I was stuffed, but I never wanted to stop eating these things. In fact, while I was waiting in line the woman behind me was on her second time through. She had finished her tacos and wanted more just from the sheer taste of them. I should probably mention that the line for Los Tacos is also very long so waiting through it twice means it’s because the food is worth it.

Los Tacos No. 1

Los Tacos No. 1

Los Tacos

Los Tacos

Needless to say I ate every last morsel.

Needless to say I ate every last morsel.

While there are plenty of places to try at Chelsea Market, Los Tacos No. 1 is certainly not a bad place to start. It surpasses all my high standards when it comes to good quality Mexican food.

-A

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

