Grandma Noodles

Many years ago, my cousin Kate deemed my Grandma to be “Grandma Noodles” and, like a nice pasta al dente, it stuck.

Merry Christmas

The two stars of this noodle post.

Ironically (for unspoken reasons), this past weekend, I consumed hearty amounts of noodles. My mom and sister were in the ugly (jk lol) town of Portland, Oregon and my brother and I had the kitchen in AZ to ourselves.

You best believe we occupied that kitchen. What good activists we are.  

Men who can cook win my heart–automatically. My brother can cook,but unfortunately that is (w)incest. Homeboy really took to the boiling water and whipped up quite the delicacies for us:

1) Shrimp Linguine with Garlic Cream Sauce
2) Beef Pho (with Rice Noodles, of course)

*Disclaimer: IDK WHY BUT NOODLES ARE HARD TO PHOTOGRAPH. PLEASE EXCUSE INTENSE CLOSE-UP ANGLE AND SLIGHT AWKWARDNESS. I SWEAR I’M BETTER THAN THIS POST REFLECTS*

ricenoodles

Rice noodles with a side of beef broth…

In a flurry about what we should have for dinner on Saturday night (because he had spent all day boiling beef bones for our pho), my brother really proved hero when he busted out a recipe to make shrimp linguine. One shop at Sprouts and $13 of shrimp later–we had one of the most hearty pasta dishes ever. Also Alex Frost was there.

shrimp

Can you sense the creaminess through the screen?

Basically all it consisted of was cream, garlic, shrimp, parsley, parmesan and romano cheese, olive oil, salt, pepper and linguine noodles. I think. I don’t really know because I was pre-occupied making a cauliflower crust pizza with goat cheese for our appetizer. Classic me, always needing like 30 courses.

linguine

Red pepper flakes with a side of pasta…

Neither Alex nor my brother could finish their pasta bowls…and I (proudly) topped mine off. And I licked the bowl. So, there’s that.

THEN,

Sunday rolled around and we were then permitted to eat our rice noodle soups. Brother claimed it would taste better after it sat for a night, and that it did. With heaping scoops of rice noodles from the Mekong Market, we enjoyed our beef soups–doused, of course, in stupid amounts of Hoisin and Chili Garlic Paste. What lives we live. Sauce.

pho

iChopstick, do u?

#Noodles.

-E

Leave a comment

Filed under PERSONAL CREATIONS

Leave a Reply

