To Sushi & Beyond!

There are so many places to try at the Chelsea Market in Manhattan but I always try to get something unique no matter where I go. Fortunately, at Beyond Sushi, the whole menu is unique and unlike any sushi experience I’ve ever had. I often feel unsatisfied after I eat sushi and still crave something else at the end of the meal. At Beyond Sushi the food is so unlike your traditional sushi that I didn’t feel even an twinge of hunger after I devoured my plate.

Chelsea Market in Manhattan.

Chelsea Market in Manhattan.

How It Works:

While Beyond Sushi has salads, soups, hand rolls and wraps I was only interested in the sushi rolls. There are three choices of combos all ranging in prices.

I chose Combo 1: one roll consisting of eight pieces and your choice of two individual pieces. The total comes out to $7.50. A great deal when it comes to buying sushi in the city.

I ordered the Sweet tree roll which has avocado and sweet potato rolled into a six grain rice and topped with alfalfa sprouts. It comes with a toasted cayenne sauce and is completely gluten free. For my individual pieces I ordered the Baked Tofu with chili mango and Mango with jalapeño wasabi, both were also gluten free. My friend did the same thing as me except she got the Mighty Mushroom roll that has enoki, tofu, shiitake mushroom rolled in a six grain rice and topped with micro arugula.

Sweet Tree Roll from Beyond Sushi.

Sweet Tree Roll from Beyond Sushi.

Mighty Mushroom Roll from Beyond Sushi.

Mighty Mushroom Roll from Beyond Sushi.

The colors are bright and the flavors are funky. I forgot to mention all the food is vegan. If you’re into healthy living then Beyond Sushi is the place to try at Chelsea Market.

-A 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

