We All Scream For Ice Cream

There are few things more desirable than ice cream. That’s all I have to say about that. Honestly, people who don’t like ice cream are weird. It’s creamy, refreshing and has a flavor for everyone in the animal kingdom. If you don’t like ice cream, call me up and I will personally take you out on my dime and make you a believer.

Today, we will be learning about ice cream of different forms. I’m excited. Let’s get going.

First stop is OddFellows Ice Cream Co. in Brooklyn. Located on Kent Avenue, close to the East River State Park, sits the family-owned ice cream parlor. The ice cream parlor offers eight to ten flavors daily along with two to four sorbets.

I ordered a small which comes with two scoops of any flavor combinations you want for $4.95. Because it was morning time and I was eating ice cream I figured the least I could do was order breakfast flavors. I got the combination of Maple-Bacon Pecan and Blueberry Buttermilk Honey. Yes, those flavors exist and yes it was the smartest combination known to man.

OddFellows Ice Cream Parlor

OddFellows Ice Cream Parlor

Maple-Bacon Pecan on top and Blueberry Buttermilk Honey on the bottom.

Maple-Bacon Pecan on top and Blueberry Buttermilk Honey on the bottom.

Second stop is Amorino, a gelato shop located on the corner of University Place and Tenth Street. The gelato here ranges from $4.50 – $8.50 and even more than that when you go big. The great thing about Amorino is that you can put as many flavors into a cup as you want. It doesn’t go off of a “scoop system” which means you can have any combination of flavors in a cup. Being as I’m a real Italian, I went hard with my authentic Italian flavors. I got amaretto, mascarpone al fico, which is a sweet cheese gelato with fig and  stracciatella, which is a creamy italian ice cream that has a milk base and crispy dark chocolate flakes throughout.

Gelato from Amorino

Gelato from Amorino

My third and final stop is Victory Garden, known for their goat’s milk soft serve. Located on Carmine Street between Bleecker and Bedford streets in West Village, this little shop has more than just soft serve. They make fruit salads, smoothies, chia seed puddings, sandwiches and so much more. I heard from trusted sources that  their basil lemonade is out of this world good. The American Dairy Goat Association says that goat’s milk is a lot easier for the body to digest than cow’s milk and that goat’s milk, out of all animal milks, is the most similar to that of humans. Being as this was a new concept to myself, I ordered the most plain Jane flavor, Tart Goat which is the plain goat’s milk soft serve. There are toppings to sweeten it up like honey and agave nectar but after a virgin taste test I found that it didn’t need anything added. It was creamy, light and completely up my alley. I’m certainly a fan of this new found treat.

Goat's Milk Soft Serve and Lemonade from Victory Garden.

Goat’s Milk Soft Serve and Lemonade from Victory Garden.

Grubbing out at Victory Garden.

Grubbing out at Victory Garden.

So, if you think ice cream is only made one way you were wrong. You have to like one of these options. You simply have to.

-A

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

