Ice Cream & Coffee: Je & Jo

No time to apologize for my lack of posts about New York eats. I’m back and here to stay. If by now you don’t realize how much I love coffee and ice cream then you haven’t read my blog posts nearly enough. In the Hell’s Kitchen District on Forty-Seventh Street between Tenth and Ninth avenues is je & jo. They offer all handmade artisan ice creams with as much conscious efforts to use local and organic ingredients. They even offer vegan and gluten free options. Yet je & jo is so much more than an ice cream café. Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream from Je and Jo

Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream from Je and Jo

Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream from Je and Jo

It made sense that on a rainy day I would get myself coffee, cookies and… ice cream? Yeah, so maybe I shouldn’t have chosen a frozen dessert on a cold day, but quite honestly I had no qualms with my decision once I dove into the creamy goodness. All the ice creams have bits of cookie dough inside of them. The above is a banana ice cream with peanut butter cookie dough; a match made in heaven. Consumer Tip: let the ice cream thaw out a little bit so the ice cream softens.

Almond Milk Latte from je & jo

Almond Milk Latte from je & jo

Along with great ice cream, comes great coffee. The wooden bar, placed in the front of the shoebox coffee shop, allows patrons to sit and enjoy food and beverages while looking out at the city street. I hung my umbrella on one of the metal rods connected to the bar-table and enjoyed my lunch break with the sound of rain pitter-pattering outside.

Peanut Butter Cookie from je & jo

Peanut Butter Cookie from je & jo

Salted Dark Chocolate Cookie from je & jo

Salted Dark Chocolate Cookie from je & jo

I now present to you cookies that surpass anything I could ever make. I consider myself a very good baker. Normally, cookies don’t impress me much. However, I’ve never tasted paradise like this before. Seriously, when do you buy a cookie from a store and save it for later only to realize it has become dry? ALWAYS, AM I RIGHT? I saved these cookies an entire day later and the cookies were so moist I seriously thought they were melting on my tongue. The Salted Dark Chocolate cookie made me feel things I don’t think I’ll ever feel again. There, I said it.

So, to wrap it all up, je & jo is an amazing gem hidden away along the Hudson River. It’s a must try if you’re ever taking a jaunt through Hell’s Kitchen, because clearly that’s where everyone “jaunts,” am I right?

-A

Leave a comment

Filed under NEW YORK

Leave a Reply

